The Lawrence K. Forcier Outstanding Senior Award is given to one of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences' top graduating seniors who has distinguished himself or herself through academic achievement and outstanding service. Named in honor of former dean Lawrence K. Forcier who served the college with distinction from 1991-1998.

The CALS mission and goals are to establish the basis for its students to hold a lifelong commitment to learning, discovery, truth, community service, and excellence.

Nominations for the 2024 Outstanding Senior Award are due Friday, March 8, 2024. See details about the nomination process below.

Award Criteria

The nominee must:

  • be a CALS graduating senior
  • have maintained an excellent academic record (minimum GPA 3.0)
  • demonstrate a positive presence on campus and in the local community by exhibiting a record of achievement and leadership
  • exhibit the highest standards and promise in his/her research and scholarship
  • have provided distinguished service within the UVM and local community
  • exhibit high standards in character
  • have shown commitment to CALS and its students

Nomination Process

To nominate a student for the Lawrence K. Forcier Outstanding Senior Award, please complete the nomination form. In addition to the nomination form, provide the nominee's resume and two additional letters of support addressing the above criteria.

The student chosen for the award will be awarded in Spring 2024.

Questions about this award should be directed to or (802) 656-2980.

Nomination Form

Past Recipients

2023 Lilah Krugman '23
2022 Alaura Rich '22
2021 Margit Burgess '21
2020 Matthew Bompastore '20
2019 Amanda L. Nattress '19
2018 Caitlin M. Beaudet '18
2017 Mariah N. Noth '17
2016 M. Lauren Donnelly '16
2015 Deniz Sehovic '15
2014 Hillary F. Laggis '14
2013 Danielle T. Leahy '13
2012 Rebecca R. Calder '12
2011 Erin Elizabeth King '11
2010 Simonne Fuge '10
2009 Jacob D. McFadden '09
2008 Christa Sherburne-Law '08
2007 Nathaniel T.B. Moore '07
2006 Sarah B. Simpson '06
2005 John H. Pigott '05
2004 Kathlyn E. Coughlan '04
2003 Heather E. Hawkes '03
2002 Katie K. Cross '02
2001 Della A. Berhanu '01
2000 Alexander M. Kende '00
1999 Marie E. Machado '99