The Alexander Kende Memorial Fund honors the memory of Alex Kende, a sixth-generation Vermonter who graduated in May 2000 with honors at the top of his class in CALS Biological Sciences program. An exemplary student, Alex received the Lawrence K. Forcier Outstanding Senior Award and had been accepted into UVM’s College of Medicine Class of 2004. On December 1, 2000, a serious illness claimed the life of this fine young man who faculty described as a “magnetic personality with intellectual prowess, personal warmth and a stimulating presence in the laboratory.” The Alexander Kende Academic Merit Award is awarded during the Spring semester. CALS' mission and goals are to establish the basis for its students to hold a lifelong commitment to learning, discovery, truth, community service, and excellence.

Award Criteria

The nominee must:

  • be a CALS second semester junior
  • have maintained an excellent academic record (minimum GPA 3.0)
  • demonstrate an interest in medicine or bio-medical research
  • exhibit high standards and promise in his/her research and scholarship
  • have provided distinguished service within the UVM and/or local community
  • exhibit high standards in character, integrity, personal courage, and good humor
  • among equally qualified candidates, an in-state student is preferred

Nomination Process

To nominate a student for the Alexander Kende Academic Merit Award, please complete the nomination form. In addition to the nomination form, provide the nominee’s resume and two additional letters of support addressing the above criteria.

Nominations for the 2024 award are due Friday, March 8, 2024.

Questions about this award should be directed to or call (802) 656-2980.

Nomination Form

Past Recipients

2023 Elisabeth Roadcap '23 and Wenzdae Wendling '23
2022 Remi Savard '23
2021 Eric Coughlin '22
2020 Mehul H. Shah '21
2019 James Whitley '20
2018 Katherine L. Bullock '19
2017 Caitlin M. Beaudet '18
2016 Niles Trigg '17
2015 Maeve 'Lauren' Donnelly '16
2014 Chelsea S. Howland '15
2013 Thomas S. Hilzinger '14
2012 Robert Rudy '13
2011 Danielle T. Leahy '12
2010 Nicole Ferland '11
2009 Vanessa Patten '10
2008 Eila Susskind '09
2007 Deandra J. Dill '08
2006 Megan G. Richmond '07
2005 Joseph R. Pare '06
2004 Emily T. Keller '05
2003 Cedric Pecor '04
2002 Colleen A. Carroll '03
2001 Emily J. Keller '02